]> git.wincent.com - wikitext.git/commit
Abandon plan to eliminate ALLOC_N in _Wikitext_encode_link_target
authorWincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
Tue, 12 May 2009 20:48:52 +0000 (22:48 +0200)
committerWincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
Tue, 12 May 2009 20:54:19 +0000 (22:54 +0200)
commitb6026babb0acbc5cf618bb1d5d3d2757fd53cba7
tree952f498c20fab4a6a387914ef41048e98217a4f1
parentcbfe57122dee39a5febf2dba5ccb08606f0cc825
Abandon plan to eliminate ALLOC_N in _Wikitext_encode_link_target

It's not worth trying to eliminate this ALLOC_N because we are
writing the encoded output back to the input buffer. If we have
to use any percent escapes then we would need to do a potentially
expensive memmove operation each time we insert an escape.

(Although note, in the case where we eat leading whitespace we would
not need a memmove for that because we are effectively doing a
manual move anyway).

We could potentially add a special case which overwrote in-place
only if there were no percent escapes (ie. which only did the ALLOC_N
on seeing a percent escape, and only if there were not enough leading
whitespace to compensate for the extra characters required by the
escape) but I am not sure if it will be worth the extra complexity.

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
ext/parser.c