]> git.wincent.com - wikitext.git/commit
Extract gemspec out into separate file
authorWincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
Mon, 19 Apr 2010 20:31:16 +0000 (22:31 +0200)
committerWincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
Mon, 19 Apr 2010 21:30:20 +0000 (23:30 +0200)
commit436076fd8be1762f874d0fc25d2a999a287cf609
treea47f7916edf96e55e035fd1076f5d281ce5fbf27
parent5bf7ecd550e79a59060d2c3ee0134e1f98cc7aba
Extract gemspec out into separate file

As recommended here for compatibility with Bundler's "install from Git
repo" feature:

  http://yehudakatz.com/2010/04/02/using-gemspecs-as-intended/

Note that while there is some disagreement in the comments on that post
about whether this is a clever or correct thing to do, in the present
case we are merely extracting the hand-edited gemspec out into a
separate file, not "checking in a generated file into the repo".

The change seems justified because it buys us compatibility with a
Bundler feature at no real cost.

Likewise, the other main complaint raised on a different post on the
same blog (ie. that building from Git repos can run into complications
where you end up with two different gems with different code but the
same version number) doesn't apply here because I have always used a
sane version numbering scheme, bumping the version number after each
release, so a released gem will never have the same version as an
intermediate version built directly from the repo:

  http://yehudakatz.com/2010/04/12/some-of-the-problems-bundler-solves/

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
Rakefile
wikitext.gemspec [new file with mode: 0644]