]> git.wincent.com - walrat.git/log
walrat.git
7 years agodoc: Remove references to Gitorious master
Greg Hurrell [Sat, 21 Mar 2015 22:12:52 +0000 (15:12 -0700)] 
doc: Remove references to Gitorious

Soon to be defunct:

  https://about.gitlab.com/2015/03/03/gitlab-acquires-gitorious/

7 years agoRemove references to KCODE
Greg Hurrell [Mon, 17 Nov 2014 01:51:03 +0000 (17:51 -0800)] 
Remove references to KCODE

These are no longer necessary now that we target Ruby 2.1 and up.

7 years agoKill off some unused methods
Greg Hurrell [Wed, 22 Oct 2014 01:15:44 +0000 (18:15 -0700)] 
Kill off some unused methods

7 years agoTrim some fat
Greg Hurrell [Wed, 22 Oct 2014 01:04:20 +0000 (18:04 -0700)] 
Trim some fat

7 years agoRequire 'continuation' unconditionally
Greg Hurrell [Wed, 22 Oct 2014 00:51:36 +0000 (17:51 -0700)] 
Require 'continuation' unconditionally

Now that we're on Ruby 2.1, there is no need for the conditional.

7 years agoSimplify LocationTracking#rightmost?
Greg Hurrell [Mon, 20 Oct 2014 14:55:58 +0000 (07:55 -0700)] 
Simplify LocationTracking#rightmost?

- drop unnecessary explicit `self` receivers
- merge final two conditional clauses into one

7 years agoApply a minor style fix to generated source for Node class
Greg Hurrell [Mon, 20 Oct 2014 14:53:44 +0000 (07:53 -0700)] 
Apply a minor style fix to generated source for Node class

7 years agoBump version number to 0.2 in preparation for release
Greg Hurrell [Mon, 20 Oct 2014 04:11:37 +0000 (21:11 -0700)] 
Bump version number to 0.2 in preparation for release

Will need a new version number so that Walrus can depend on it.

7 years agoDon't shadow "proc" method
Greg Hurrell [Mon, 20 Oct 2014 04:00:18 +0000 (21:00 -0700)] 
Don't shadow "proc" method

At some point, around 1.9 I think, `proc` became a shorthand for
`Proc.new`; we shouldn't be shadowing it in this way.

7 years agoUpdate Rspec syntax
Greg Hurrell [Mon, 20 Oct 2014 03:51:28 +0000 (20:51 -0700)] 
Update Rspec syntax

Did this with the help of the transpec gem. Contrary to the README, I
found I did need to add it to the Gemfile (although obviously, I removed
it immediately afterwards).

Additionally it crashed trying to open `.git/COMMIT_EDITMSG` after the
conversion had completed, because I was running it from inside a
submodule; upstream issue for that:

  https://github.com/yujinakayama/transpec/issues/94

Here are the relevant bits of the output:

  Summary:

  415 conversions
    from: obj.should
      to: expect(obj).to
  382 conversions
    from: == expected
      to: eq(expected)
  100 conversions
    from: lambda { }.should
      to: expect { }.to
  35 conversions
    from: obj.should_not
      to: expect(obj).not_to
  32 conversions
    from: lambda { }.should_not
      to: expect { }.not_to
  2 conversions
    from: it { should_not ... }
      to: it { is_expected.not_to ... }
  1 conversion
    from: it { should ... }
      to: it { is_expected.to ... }

  967 conversions, 0 incompletes, 0 warnings, 0 errors

Sure beats doing it by hand, or even with Vim macros...

7 years agoUpdate to RSpec 3.1.0
Greg Hurrell [Sun, 19 Oct 2014 21:15:01 +0000 (14:15 -0700)] 
Update to RSpec 3.1.0

Surprisingly, little broke in the move from 1.3.0 to 3.1.0. Changes
included:

- simplify `require 'spec_helper'` statements
- kill some old lambdas
- change `expect`/`should` assertions to `expect`/`to`
- updates for new mock API
- update binstubs
- drop explicit `require 'rubygems'` from spec helper; we'll always run
  using `bin/rspec`
- tweak `pending` examples, as RSpec now complains if they have a block
  which doesn't raise an error

Note, we're still mostly using the deprecated `should` syntax. I'll
leave the move to `expect` for another moment.

7 years agodoc: describe new version requirements
Greg Hurrell [Sun, 19 Oct 2014 20:39:40 +0000 (13:39 -0700)] 
doc: describe new version requirements

7 years agoPut license boilerplate on a diet
Greg Hurrell [Sun, 19 Oct 2014 20:33:36 +0000 (13:33 -0700)] 
Put license boilerplate on a diet

For similar reasons to those stated in commit
6cd8d28d57e991d2db17196f5d2ec214df85ee1c in the Command-T repo.

7 years agoRemove donations section from docs
Greg Hurrell [Sun, 19 Oct 2014 20:31:00 +0000 (13:31 -0700)] 
Remove donations section from docs

This was just cluttering things up.

7 years agoUpdate copyright and authorship info
Greg Hurrell [Sun, 19 Oct 2014 20:24:44 +0000 (13:24 -0700)] 
Update copyright and authorship info

7 years agoUpdate for Ruby 2.1.3
Greg Hurrell [Sun, 19 Oct 2014 20:19:45 +0000 (13:19 -0700)] 
Update for Ruby 2.1.3

Will want to upgrade RSpec separately, but it was freaking out about the
pending specs. With this, the test suite is clean.

7 years agoSilence Gemfile warnings
Greg Hurrell [Sun, 19 Oct 2014 19:23:47 +0000 (12:23 -0700)] 
Silence Gemfile warnings

12 years agoReplace a ternary with a simpler construct
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 28 Aug 2010 20:38:40 +0000 (22:38 +0200)] 
Replace a ternary with a simpler construct

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoFix minor typo in code comment (cosmetic)
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 28 Aug 2010 20:24:09 +0000 (22:24 +0200)] 
Fix minor typo in code comment (cosmetic)

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoRemove :origin option from memoization identifier
Wincent Colaiuta [Fri, 27 Aug 2010 21:37:40 +0000 (23:37 +0200)] 
Remove :origin option from memoization identifier

This was a Walrus-specific option so really has no place in Walrat
itself, and it turns out that it isn't necessary anyway and so only is a
waste of memory.

The motivation for adding it to the memoization identifier was so as to
distinguish between parse results with the same parseable at the same
location but in different files (for example, a comment directive
parslet seeing a comment on the first line of a file and also on the
first line of a file included from the former).

It turns out that this kind of differentiation is never needed because
include files are parsed by a completely separate Parser instance, and
each instance has its own MemoizingCache instance. See the
Walrus::Grammar :include_subparslet rule, and particularly this line:

  sub_result = Parser.new.parse(...)

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoAdd comment about Walrus-specific :origin key
Wincent Colaiuta [Fri, 27 Aug 2010 20:32:10 +0000 (22:32 +0200)] 
Add comment about Walrus-specific :origin key

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoFix typo in code documentation comment
Wincent Colaiuta [Fri, 27 Aug 2010 16:31:45 +0000 (18:31 +0200)] 
Fix typo in code documentation comment

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoCall to_parseable before storing rules
Wincent Colaiuta [Fri, 27 Aug 2010 16:17:14 +0000 (18:17 +0200)] 
Call to_parseable before storing rules

Given a rule like:

  rule :foo, 'bar'

We previously stored the string literal in the rules hash. At parse
time, these rules get accessed via the SymbolParslet class, which
does:

  result = grammar.rules[@symbol].memoizing_parse(...)

The memoizing_parse method itself calls to_parseable on the rule,
which means that every time we evaluate a rule like :foo we end up
creating a new StringParslet instance.

By storing 'bar'.to_parseable in the rules hash instead we avoid
the unnecessary object creation. With this change each time
memoizing_parse calls to_parseable on the stored value, the same
instance is returned and no new object is created, thus reducing memory
use.

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoCorrect example in Symbol documentation
Wincent Colaiuta [Fri, 27 Aug 2010 15:49:02 +0000 (17:49 +0200)] 
Correct example in Symbol documentation

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoHoist unnecessarily nested requires up to file scope
Wincent Colaiuta [Fri, 27 Aug 2010 15:45:50 +0000 (17:45 +0200)] 
Hoist unnecessarily nested requires up to file scope

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoGit: ignore YARD-generated files
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 15:51:04 +0000 (17:51 +0200)] 
Git: ignore YARD-generated files

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoGit: ignore .config.yml
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 15:50:42 +0000 (17:50 +0200)] 
Git: ignore .config.yml

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoRakefile: add yard and upload_yard tasks
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 15:38:09 +0000 (17:38 +0200)] 
Rakefile: add yard and upload_yard tasks

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoAdd YARD as a development dependency
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 15:37:51 +0000 (17:37 +0200)] 
Add YARD as a development dependency

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoUpdate Gemfile.lock to development version
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 15:37:32 +0000 (17:37 +0200)] 
Update Gemfile.lock to development version

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoAdd README.txt for GitHub
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 12:51:28 +0000 (14:51 +0200)] 
Add README.txt for GitHub

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoBump version number post-release
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 11:25:48 +0000 (13:25 +0200)] 
Bump version number post-release

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoBump version number for 0.1 release 0.1
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 09:05:21 +0000 (11:05 +0200)] 
Bump version number for 0.1 release

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoAdapat gemspec for Walrat
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 08:58:44 +0000 (10:58 +0200)] 
Adapat gemspec for Walrat

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoAdd Gemfile.lock and Bundler binstubs
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 08:54:51 +0000 (10:54 +0200)] 
Add Gemfile.lock and Bundler binstubs

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoAdapt Rakefile for Walrat
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 08:52:48 +0000 (10:52 +0200)] 
Adapt Rakefile for Walrat

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoAdd version file
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 08:51:21 +0000 (10:51 +0200)] 
Add version file

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoMove spec/walrat files up one level
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 08:49:33 +0000 (10:49 +0200)] 
Move spec/walrat files up one level

As we no longer share the spec directory with Walrus, there is no need
to compartmentalize the Walrat files inside their own subdirectory.

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoAdapt spec helper to Walrat
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 08:39:11 +0000 (10:39 +0200)] 
Adapt spec helper to Walrat

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>
12 years agoInitial import (extraction from Walrus repo, commit 0c9d44c)
Wincent Colaiuta [Sat, 21 Aug 2010 10:35:26 +0000 (12:35 +0200)] 
Initial import (extraction from Walrus repo, commit 0c9d44c)

Signed-off-by: Wincent Colaiuta <win@wincent.com>